Homer says “Norton Juster!! You copy-cat!”

By popular demand…

How well do you know The Phantom Tollbooth?
If you don’t recall ordinance 175389-j, let me remind you. “It shall be unlawful, illegal, and unethical to think, think of thinking, surmise, presume, reason, meditate, or speculate while you are in the Doldrums. Anyone breaking this law shall be severely punished.” Seeing as how you are not in the Doldrums, disregard this message and rather think of “birds that swim and fish that fly. Think of yesterday’s lunch and tomorrow’s dinner. Think of words beginning with J and numbers that end in three.” Maybe then your “wheels will begin to turn,” and you will find this test BEYOND EXPECTATIONS.

Leaderboard

…and yes, I’m taking my own test again. But it’s to make sure it works properly for you folks.

littlemistress

3 thoughts on “Homer says “Norton Juster!! You copy-cat!”

  1. She hasn’t read this to me in too many long nights. But I remember. I remember all the important parts. Not the unimportant parts.

    Another perfect score for my perfect intellect, perfectly remembering all the perfect parts and leaving out the rest.

    I must get her to read it to me again, soon. It keeps her out of mischief. She has been putting everything into boxes again, and it is so tiring when she does that. One can’t get a good nap in.

  2. Arg! After getting a certain kidlet to the site, she studiously filled everything out (with some trepidation) and then we had nothing but problems trying to get it submitted. First, it appears she’s not old enought, then it was not accepting our password and finally when we fought and got it submitted, it lost all of our entry!

    Maybe next time it will have to be an oral test…

  3. So I took this thing, finally. Alas, I really need to reread the book again soon, as soon as I get moved into the new pad and can unpack my library.

    How flipping big is that beaver supposed to be, anyway? And what did the Senses Taker promise?

    Well, at least I can tell you exactly how Modified Occam’s Razor is supposed to work, and what justifications Grice gives for using it.

    Interesting, in the Kingdom of Wisdom, I’ve never been all that fluent in the Digitopoli dialect. And, well, I’ve always ignored the Demons of Ignorance. So there you go.

    Back to Studies in the Way of Words—recommended by the Unabridged himself, I might add.

Leave a Reply

