Standing in a very long line

I don’t like Lafayette. It’s a litter-strewn, backwards, extreme-weathered, over-humid, over-oversized-insected, anti-arts, pro-racism, mecca o’ poopy heads.

I can hear Joe now–don’t hold back, Bon. Tell me how you really feel.

The point is that I’m stuck here in this cultural haven for at least another year and a half. Odds are, a year longer than that. Now to be fair, there are wonderful people here. Just not around my neighborhood. Or where I grocery shop. Or where I fill my car. Hmm.

Purdue’s nice.

ANYWAY.

So when I heard this song on my new favorite CD—okay, on the newest addition to my “favorite CD” list—I had to put it here. It’s so perfect. Unfortunately, a part of its perfection is the arrangement and the melody, but I can’t put that here. So you’ll just have to get the CD.


Part of the Queue

from the CD “Don’t Believe the Truth” (Epic, 2005) by Oasis

Suddenly I found that I’d lost my way in this city
The streets and the thousands of colours all bleed into one
I fall down, heaven won’t help me
I call out, no one would hear
All of a sudden I’d lost my way out of the city
Stand tall, stand proud
Every beginning is breaking its promise
I’m having trouble just finding some soul in this town
The names on the faces in places they mean nothing to me
It’s all they can do to be part of the queue in this town
I fall down, heaven won’t help me
I call out, no one will hear
There’ll be no tomorrow they say, well I say more’s the pity
Stand tall, stand proud
Every beginning has broken its promise
I’m having trouble just finding my soul in this town
But I’ll keep on trying I keep on trying
Leave a Reply

